Update: "Fixed," I guess? No more confirmations on deleting any podcasts or episodes in iTunes 11.2.
iTunes has many, many issues, but here is one that has been around for a long time... perhaps since the introduction of podcast subscriptions in iTunes.
In iTunes (under Mac or Windows), you can subscribe to something called a "podcast". Wikipedia describes a podcast this way:
A podcast is a type of digital media consisting of an episodic series of audio files subscribed to and downloaded through web syndication or streamed online to a computer or mobile device.
Podcasts are shown in iTunes in a folder-style fashion. There is a row for each subscription and underneath each is one row for every episode:
Some of these episodes are large (particularly for video podcasts), so I will sometimes delete an episode after I'm finished with it. If you click on the episode and hit your "Delete" (or "Del" for you Windows users) key, you'll see a message like this:
I always do a bit of a double-take at this message and have to verify that I selected the right thing to delete. iTunes is here referring to a podcast episode as a "podcast". Okay, well... what does iTunes say if you want to actually delete the podcast subscription itself? Well, it says this:
Here, it refers to the subscription as the podcast and refers to individual episodes as "episodes". This seems proper to me, and the former message seems wrong. I think this could be fixed by simply changing the word "podcast" to "episode" in the first confirmation message above: "Are you sure you want to delete the selected episode from your iTunes library? This episode will also be deleted from .....".
Apple, please fix that.
(Most recently observed in iTunes 10.6.3.)